In some countries children take up paid jobs during the summer vacation. Some people feel that this amounts to child labour. Others argue that summer jobs help children learn valuable lessons. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is quite popular worldwide that teenagers seek part-time jobs during summer holidays in order to earn money to pocket expenses. Some people think that this situation is inappropriate because children are one of the most vulnerable categories of citizens and can be underpaid by employers. Others insist that this opportunity gives adolescents a paramount experience that can be useful in their future lives. While I agree that this labor might have negative facets, I believe that the numerous benefits outweigh the disadvantages.

One of the main concerns about this experience is the lack of regulations about teenagers’ labor. Some employers could used this in their own personal gains. There are numerous complaints in developing countries, such as Russia or China, about children who have to work in stuffy, cramped, and unhealthful conditions without decent wages. However, this situation is much better in developed countries, and the growing number of governments impose strict laws about this that regulate a minimal salary and workday duration for adolescents. Hence, the right legislation in that area can solve the majority of problems.

On the other hand, this type of job can give children invaluable experience. One of them is the first money that teenagers earn themselves. This money might give adolescents understanding about the cost of labor and bridge the gap in their financial literacy. According to some studies, teenagers who have a part-time job during summer holidays have fewer financial problems in their future life. One of the reasons for it that they quite understand about the price of labor. Moreover, this type of jobs could help children to understand their preferences about future majors.

In conclusion, I argue that the labor during summer vacation has more positive consequences for children than negative ones.