In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

It is often are you that despite the declining number of serious crime cases, citizens feel more in danger than ever before. I believe that the less focused police system and deeper impact of these crimes on mental health are primarily responsible for this issue. In this essay I will discuss poignant causes and most suitable solutions for this dilemma.

To begin with, the man cause of this problem is that the police does not take these cases seriously. In other words, police systems are usually focused on controlling and solving the serious crimes, hands they do not put enough effort to search evidence of minor crime cases. Consequently, such careless approach more motivate to minor criminals for committing crimes. Additionally, the ratio of minor crimes has been increased dramatically. However, such crimes not affect people’s live seriously yet they have very significant and long term impact on there mental health. Therefore, people are not feeling safe nowadays. For example, according to a survey report, more than a fifth of Indian population admitted that due to increasing number of chain snatching and mobile robbery cases they are not feeling safe nowadays.

Available solution is to implement strict laws. That is to say, if government made some strict and effective rules regarding punishment for minor crimes, then sach cases could be controlled. On the top of that creating awareness in citizens can also be helpful in dealing with such issues. Such as, in Kerala, government started a campaign, in which they provided education about how to prevent ourselves from such minor crimes, as well as the pragmatic approaches, which can be applied after happening of such crimes was also discussed at that time.

In conclusion, careless police behaviour and vital negative impact on mental health are predominantly lead to this dilemma, however the pragmatic of solutions to solve this are more strict loss implementation and public awareness.