In some countries, fast food restaurants and supermarkets give money to schools to promote their products. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many schools receive financial support from fast food restaurants and supermarkets to promote their goods. It is argued that this issue leads to positive development, while others believe that is a negative improvement. Nowadays, companies advertise their product to their target group directly, and children might be potential customers. However, consuming unhealthy food more can cause physical issues in children’s health. This essay will explore both aspects and present my opinion in the following paragraphs.

Financial support from fast food restaurants and supermarkets experience a beneficial development for schools in the way of providing better facilities, reducing inequality among students. Firstly, sponsorship from those companies may offer useful facilities such as academic books, playground areas, and extracurricular programs. Secondly, this encouragement leads to reducing inequality in schools. To illustrate, some students from low-income families can benefit from free or discounted lunch meals.

Conversely, there are some negative trends from this financial support that consuming fast food leads to unhealthy for children due to unhealthy food containing high sugar, salt, and fat levels, causing risk of obesity, diabetes, and other health issues. Moreover, the purpose of advertisement of the company is promoting these products to potential customers, youngsters in schools. This marketing strategy may lead children to purchase these foods more. From my perspective, I believe that schools should prioritize better education more than promoting brands for financial funds.

In conclusion, some individuals believe that financial support from supermarkets and restaurants may provide an advantage for schools, while others argue that this support influences students to consume more unhealthy meals. However, I believe that schools should pay attention to students’ educational goals.