In some countries, fast food restaurants and supermarkets give money to schools to promote their products. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nobody would dispute the fact that giving money to schools to promote fast food restaurants as well as supermarkets. To my mind, it is debatable whether this could be regarded as a wholly negative development.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why the notion that promoting fast food restaurants and supermarkets in schools has some negative aspects, but the most alarming one lies in the fact that adverts for fast foods and their availability within school premises would help to develop children’s taste for such foods. This can increase problems like obesity, which in turn is the root cause of many other health issues among children. Furthermore, if schools promote advertisements of any products like toys or computer games from supermarkets through educational materials, children think that they have the approval of teachers and school authorities. For instance, a study conducted by the Bureau of Statistics reveals that the negative impacts of supermarkets and fast food chains providing funds to schools so they can advertise their goods are harsh and should never be underestimated or ignored. For these reasons, the negative effects of fast food outlets and supermarkets providing money to schools for promoting the items they sell should not be overlooked.

Nevertheless, some people think that taking money from fast food restaurants and supermarkets to promote their products has some positive facets; however, the most predominant one stems from the fact that the money such companies give for promoting their products inside the campus helps financially strapped schools to buy library books or improve sports facilities. Moreover, children benefit from the additional resources and facilities that schools can afford due to such funding, which is beneficial and necessary. As an illustration, the findings of studies prove that more than 50% of the participants were in favor of the benefits showered by taking money from supermarkets and fast food restaurants for promoting their goods in schools. Therefore, the positive impacts of taking money from advertising companies like fast food restaurants and supermarkets to promote their goods are undeniable.

To conclude, from the above analytical discussion of the stance by considering both positive and negative trends, it has been observed that the disadvantages of giving an amount of money to a school to promote their fast food restaurants as well as supermarket products outweigh the advantages.