Some people think everyone should be a vegetarian, because meat is unnecessary for good health. To what extent do you agree or disagree

People have different views as to whether everyone should follow a vegetarian diet, since there are other sources of essential nutrients besides meat and dairy products. While there are several challenges to having a vegetarian diet, I believe that it does more good than harm.

Critics of a vegetarian diet cite various reasons to support their stance. If community members choose vegetarianism, they are more likely to face some difficulties related to planning a healthy diet, which is highly important to ensure that they are getting essential nutrients. Unless they plan their vegetarian diet carefully, they may fail to get such essential nutrients as B12, iron, and protein, all of which are included in meat and other animal products, thus reducing the vitamins in the body and increasing the risk of various health problems like flu, anaemia, and immunodeficiency. Additionally, access to fresh produce and healthy vegetarian options can be limited in some places, especially in rural and underdeveloped areas. In a world where supermarkets offering a variety of healthy, fresh products are scarce, it is becoming more challenging for individuals to maintain a balanced vegetarian diet than ever before.

Despite these arguments, in my view, the benefits of a plant-based diet are more significant. When people follow a healthy vegetarian diet, they may eat vegetables, fruits, grains, legumes, and seeds, which abounds in carbohydrates, fibre, and water while limiting fats, cholesterol, salt, and sugars. As a result, they naturally consume fibre-rich products, thus improving digestion and overall health and aiding healthy weight management. Without following a vegetarian diet, people may continue to have unhealthy eating habits, which contains processed meals, fast food products, and sugary contents, thereby developing serious health complications including obesity, diabetes, and cardiovascular diseases. A case in point is my home country of Uzbekistan, where many people are opting for junk foods like burgers, hot dogs, processed snacks, and sugary drinks, putting their health in jeopardy.

In conclusion, although vegetarian diet can have difficulties when it comes to providing enough nutrients if planning inproperly, in my opinion, it can offer great benefits to keep weight in control and optimize general health. Only by having a balanced diet can we achieve optimal health in this fast-paced world.