Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can the government do to reduce the amount of waste produced?

Recently, rubbish producing is becoming a serious challenge all around the world. This problem is mainly attributed to human activities, both individual and organizational. Governments should corporate to take some timely actions that might alleviate the situation.

The increasing amount of rubbish in today’s world is argued to be the responsibility of the modern fast lifestyle and the producing process of factories. In the small scale, individuals, who have a more hectic lifestyle, tend to choose processed and packaged meals from supermarkets instead of cooking at home. These convenient items often come with plenty of disposable bags and cutlery, which are directly thrown to the landfill. In the larger scale, factories are producing more and more products every day. These processes also bring about waste and by-products, which become litter later on. Moreover, due to industrial developments, products are sold at an unprecedentedly affordable price. This fact significantly changes customers’ behaviors, since the easier customers buy new items, the shorter the products’ turnover.

These circumstances might be mitigated if there are global governments corporation in raising public awareness and sustainability priorities. First and foremost, the governments should embed the detrimental consequences of rubbish producing in mainstream education at the very young age. An educated student can affect the mindset of their family and relatives; therefore, if there is a generation that have the awareness and hesitate to litter or produce rubbish, the effect can be multiplied. More importantly, strict regulations about industrial waste management should be discussed to reach a global consensus. The sustainable organizations that process their waste efficiently can be prioritized by the governments in terms of tax or resources to encourage other firms on the way to achieve sustainable development.

In conclusion, the fact that rubbish is produced more day by day is an inevitable result human development process. However, to save our own shelter – the Earth, governments should take public perceptions of rubbish into account as well as manage industrial waste more strictly.