Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can the government do to reduce the amount of waste produced?

In recent years, the amount of waste and rubbish being generated has been increasing dramatically, and the importance of this issue has become enormous worldwide.

With the inevitable rise in population and industrialization, this problem will be further aggravated. This essay will attempt to examine the factors which have contributed to this issue and also propose a number of ways to resolve this situation.

One of the main reasons for the growing amount of rubbish is the expansion of the population, as it has already reached a staggering 8 billion people. Because of this, the demand for food, clothes and consumer products has increased, all of which generate waste during production and after use. Additionally, the current lifestyle itself fosters the production of rubbish, as the majority of the products used by people are designed for one or a low number of uses and are not suitable for recycling. For example, plastic packaging is frequently used in everyday life and is environmentally harmful.

There are some means that can help tackle this issue. Firstly, local authorities should present stricter regulations on manufacturers by limiting the excessive use of plastic and encouraging them to produce eco-friendly products. Investing in companies that use environmentally harmless materials and recycling technologies could accelerate this transition. Secondly, the government should educate the public in order to limit the usage of detrimental products. By encouraging nationwide awareness, public behaviour can gradually change, potentially decreasing the amount of waste production.

In conclusion, it is obvious that the human population will continue to rise. In order to maintain the safety of the environment, it is essential for the government and the public to cooperate in order to fight the generation of rubbish.