In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

In today’s world, developing street-smartness in children is estimated to be far more important than theoretical knowledge. It is indeed true that practical skills define success and survival in today’s competitive and dynamic world.

Although the academic curriculum has undergone various editions in the last few years in an attempt to make education applicable to the real world, for many domains like business, arts and law, students need to possess good communication, crisis management, and leadership skills. These qualities cannot be developed overnight and the school environment is the appropriate place to practice and inculcate such values through the various group activities, projects and assignments.

An early beginning, doubtlessly, gives one an edge over others as there is ample time to improvise one’s shortcomings which will play a larger role in achieving professional success later on. Also, students from lower income households carry the responsibility of becoming financially independent as early as possible and hence acing practical skills is crucial for them. This is will also build confidence and good situation assessment skills.

Schools might not compare up to real life, with conflicts and pandemics, but employment has become highly unstable. Therefore general education as a backup plan will ensure better survival.