In some countries, more and more adults are living with their parents after graduating from college, university, or even after finding a job. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The youth of today are finding it very difficult to find good employment and this has led to the increase in the number of young adults moving in with their parents. While there are certain drawbacks, I believe that the advantages of young graduates staying with parents as an adult are far more.

The first advantage of working adult children staying at home is that they contribute towards the household income and share the expenses. This not only reduces the burden on their parents but also helps them reduce their own expenses and save money. In effect, rather than struggling to pay rents, utility bills and other expenses, they can invest money or save money for a future home.

Secondly, there is a better bonding and stronger family ties in a family that stays together. Even though life has become hectic and there is not enough time to spend with family and friends, it is very comforting to know that there is someone at home to share problems. This helps them deal better with stressful situations in life and at work. Also, if children stay longer with their parents, they are more likely to support and take care of their parents in old age, due to the strong family bonds.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of children staying at home, which cannot be overlooked. Living with the parents after completing their education may make the children more dependent. They depend on someone to do the daily chores, like washing clothes, cooking food, cleaning dishes, and so on. They may never learn financial responsibility if they are dependent on their parents’ hard-earned wages and do not contribute towards the household expenses.

To conclude, despite the few drawbacks of young adults sharing accommodation with their parents, I believe it is a positive trend on the whole.