In some countries, more and more adults are living with their parents after graduating from college, university, or even after finding a job. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Not leaving parents’ houses after graduation, or even when the children are earning money, has become a trend in some countries.

Although this habit may have some merits, such as more confidence for children, it has many demerits. For example, they may never face the difficulty of managing household tasks while working. The reasons why its disadvantages outweigh its advantages, in my point of view, are discussed in forthcoming paragraphs.

Some people claim that staying in parents’ homes may have benefits for adults, provided that they not only earn qualifications but also are working. They argue that, for young people who have just received their degrees, finding jobs is more important than finding a house. The reason for this is that spending time finding a suitable job that matches the person’s degree and interests will be more beneficial in the long term. Moreover, considering their financial status, they do not even have enough money unless they start working. Furthermore, in the case that the recently graduated person has found a job, adapting to the workplace’s atmosphere is hard enough that handling another major change in their life is unnecessary.

However, critics of this phenomenon believe that the appropriate time for these beginners to leave their childhood homes is right after graduation or when they start working. They assert that a human’s risk-taking and change-adopting attitudes are at their peak during this golden era. Therefore, they can take the risk and leave their homes and face the hardship. Additionally, being under pressure can impact them for good. As an instance, they become more independent and patient; these manners can help them throughout their lives.

To conclude, in my opinion, although living in parents’ houses could have some negative impacts on adults, such as not experiencing life’s hard times and therefore not learning beneficial manners, it has many positive impacts on them, for example, the available time they have to seek a great job offer that suits them well.