In some countries, more and more adults are living with their parents after graduating from college, university, or even after finding a job. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In some countries, there is an increasing trend of adults staying together with their parents after some significant life milestones such as graduation or seeking for a job. While this trend holds advantages and disadvantages, I personally think that the latter will outweigh thhe former.

Looking on the positive side, living with parents leads to financial savings and a considerable reduction in living expenses. Rent or utility payments can be fully or partly shared with parents, allowing adults to allocate their money to other aspects of life. This is also beneficial for adults who are suffering hardships, for example, being in debt or having a low-paying job. Another point worth considering is that parents can provide emotional support and stability during life transitions. As adults are in the process of navigating their career and personal lives, parents play an important role in supporting their offsprings with guidance, advice, and experiences. Moreover, this will consequently build and enhance family bonds, which are essential in obtaining a fulfilled life.

However, living with parents has a variety of adverse effects. Firstly, parents, especially those who are strict, may hinder their children’s development of self-reliance. Children’s chances to experience the world can be reduced due to parents’ overprotection, potentially leading to the delay in learning important life skills. Lack of such skills may result in children’s misleading concept of the cut-throat world, in a worst-case scenario, contributing to their inappropriate set of behaviors and manners. Secondly, conflicts among family members will potentially happen due to shared space. Parents may force their offspring to do things to the detriment of their private space and freedom. For instance, the camera installation in their children’s room to track their daily activities results in the invasion of personal privacy.

In conclusion, while living with parents holds many benefits such as financial and emotional support, adults also suffer from a lack of self-esteem and family conflicts. Therefore, the disadvantages of this trend outnumber the advantages, which can be seen apparently in the long-term development of an adult.