In some countries, online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The last decade, especially the post-COVID-19 pandemic years, has witnessed a surge in e-commerce. People are shifting to online shops, replacing traditional physical retail stores, thereby sparking a debate about whether this shift has been a positive or negative development. In the following paragraphs, I will examine both viewpoints and explain why I think this is rather a negative development.

On one hand, online shopping brings with it multifarious advantages. Firstly, one can buy everything in one place, anytime and from anywhere! For instance, people living in the U.S.A. can buy their favorite Indian attire from anywhere in India and get it delivered to their doorstep. Secondly, shoppers can also save their time and effort by skipping the travel time and the hustle and bustle of a physical marketplace, like the long queues for either the fitting room or billing counters.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that physical shopping comes with its unique, irreplaceable positives. Physically purchasing items allows one to check their quality firsthand. This is a major problem in online shopping, where defective or broken products are sent to customers. For instance, for products like cosmetics, buyers can first test out different products that suit their skin before making a purchase. Furthermore, in case of faulty items bought online, it takes a longer time to return. Especially for items like clothes, when shopping at malls, we can try our suitable size before purchasing and save ourselves from the hassle of returning them.

Additionally, while purchasing at physical retail stores, we can take the products instantly with us. Thus, we do not have to wait for many days before the items reach us. Thus, we can be worry-free from any delays that might be caused by logistical issues.

To sum it up, while virtual shopping is highly convenient and has transformed the way people shop, it comes with its limitations that physical stores can address effectively. Conventional offline shopping helps in quality assurance and instant access to products, which cannot be provided by online shops.