In some countries parents usually provide pocket money to their children every week. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, it is undeniable that children are getting plenty of cash from their parents in certain nations. This essay will breifly discuss the major benefits and possible drawbacks of weekly providing pocket money to their children.

Firstly, parents financially provide their kids for snacks and accessories that are necessary for school. At primary and secondary schools, students need to buy food needed for themselves during breaktimes. Subsequently, they can buy their favourite toys and gifts for their classmates. In addition, pocket money can be saved up for later uses. For instance, the most recent research reveals that most of the money that were kept since childhood tends to be precious in upcoming events due to increased inflation rate in highly corrupted countries such as Sudan, Myanmar, and Mexico. Last but not least, most parents feel unpleasant if their children do not receive sufficient pocket money.

On the other hand, several cons of giving pocket money to younger adults are not knowing the value of money, buying unsuitable things, and potentially doing bets. If given a huge amount of cash to the kids, there develops a risk of spending too much money which can eventually turn into a habit that is practiced in daily life. Consequently, children usually put their money on lots of toys that are unnecessary for them, and not importantly, even reduce the spaces in their houses. Finally, the chance of children betting on certain sports like football matches increases if received huge amount of pocket money in some countries.

To sum up, even though it is a necessity to provide money to children, there develops both advantages and disadvantages to parents and their children.