In some countries, people are forced to retire when they reach a certain age. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this ?

Compulsory retirement is common in many nations when members of the workforce reach 65 or 70. Two advantages and one disadvantage are explained in detail below along with the conclusion.

Performance basis I believe should be one of the criteria for deciding if one is fit to work in an organization or not. At that said age, some people are still at the peak of their carrier, doing exploit in their respective job titles. My professor at the University of Cambridge remains relevant in decision making and lecturing, forcing him to retire will not the justice to the institution and the students. In a nutshell, attaining a particular age should not literally influence people from working.

Moreover, most people are now very conscious of their health, as people age, they consult a nutritionist for advice on the right calories to consume daily, more so, register themselves in a gym just to keep fit. They remain fit that no one can tell they have reached that age, should they then be forced to retire when they are still full of strength and energy? All in all, it can be said that reaching a particular age should not cause people to retire.

However, I believe some young people who desire to grow in their respective careers might have to remain in the same positions if older people are not forced to retire so that others can grow in their careers.

It can be concluded that, reaching a certain age shouldn’t be the barrier for retirement, rather other factors like performance, relevance and decision making should be considered as factors to retire people.