In some countries, students live at home with their family while they study at university, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do the advantages of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

In few nations, students of universities like to live in their own city with their family members, while they study in a university. On the other hand, in other countries, undergraduates go to universities in other cities. I think that the benefits of staying far from family during study outweigh the disadvantages. In this essay, I will explain both the positive and negative effects of it.

On one hand, one benefit of living far from the city is that students can get better opportunities. If students go to a city far away, they can receive a better education, which all students hope to get. They may receive job offers that lead to making them independent, as well as they may get the opportunity to learn new skills and gain experience. In a new place and city, undergraduate students may find good friends and also learn about new cultures, languages, and societies. Students learn how to adjust to a new society, a new university, and so on.

On the other hand, another merit of staying away from home is that it can provide more focus on studies. While studying at a university, students need to pay more attention to their studies. During this time, they can dedicate more time and focus to studying without family distractions. Students who live with their families need to spend time with them, but without family around, no one can disturb them while studying, allowing them to focus on their studies and build a better future.

However, the demerit is homesickness. Living in a new place without family members and friends can lead to homesickness. Undergraduates who are away from their city for studies are far from their hometown, which can lead to feelings of sadness, loneliness, stress, and may even result in making poor decisions that could lead to depression. All these problems can impact their careers.

Although living without family members is challenging, the fact remains that they have to focus on their future and studies without family. It can undeniably be argued that the demerits of this trend outweigh the benefits.