In some countries, teenagers have part-time jobs while they are still at school. What benefits does this bring a child? Are there any drawbacks?

On the one hand, working and studying and the same time cultivates the emergence of positive personality traits in students. By being able to allot time both to school and workplaces, pupils develop a deep sense of self-discipline and time management skills, which are crucial for their future career life. As working part-time requires them to completely change their schedule and dedicate a quarter of their day to labor, individuals subconsciously become more responsible and productive regarding their life choices. The extension of one’s social networking is another benefit attributed to students who immerse themselves in workforce from an early age. While working, they undeniably encounter a lot of new people on a daily basis, which contributes to making new acquaintances that could be really helpful to them in the long run. Not only they broaden their network, but also enhance their social skills with people, as a result of interactions under different circumstances.

On the other hand, working from a young age can bring about certain drawbacks as well. This kind of hectic schedule might lead to regular burnouts and feelings of exhaustion. As a result, students fall under a risk to form some hostility towards any job. Furthermore, the rates for unemployment and economic instability might increase rapidly. Moreover, another demerit is the potential decline in one’s academic performance. Some might be heavily influenced by the opportunities money provides them with and shift their focus solely to the part-time job. Unless students strike a healthy balance between work and education, they are going to fall behind their studies and drop out in the worst case.

To conclude, although the act of working and studying simultaneously offers certain advantages, such as discipline and socializing, it can also turn out to foster some negative impact on pupils’ mental health.