In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The age gap between parents and their kids extended comparing to the past in some countries. Although, it can lead to the generational differences and the constant conflicts, this gap shows that adults now are planning their child and taking responsibilities for their family which significantly outweigh the drawbacks of this process.

The differences in age can lead to the conflict of views. World is developing and changing, along with the values and perception. When parents grow in different time, they could not follow changes that are happening in the modern world. When child hits puberty, it could be hard for parents to accept identity and differences in opinions. Hence, it can lead to the further struggles in communication, and relationships between them can worsen. Children can isolate themselves and it would be the reason of insecurity and mental struggles. It is called ‘generational differences’ which remains actual problem, and this phenomenon appears as the main disadvantage of having a greater age gap.

On the other hand, this gap displays changes in the perspective of having a child. While adults did not think much about children’s well being and emotional state, back then, nowadays parents come to this question with a high responsibility. They understand that needs of that kid should be covered and faced, starting with basic needs and continue with the emotional support. Adults that become parents in older ages are wiser and more mature, and as a result, they got use to rise an important message as planning children and gaining capital for their future. Hence, their wisdom helps them to tackle with the challenges in communication and find a compromise in every situation.

In conclusion, we can say that despite the downsides of having a greater age gap between parents and their children that lead to the generational conflicts, this phenomenon illustrates maturity and responsibility of adults that chose to be parents in older ages. Notably, advantages of that outweigh the disadvantages.