In some countries, the government fully funds all university courses while in others, students have to pay for their own education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of each approach and give your opinion.

Some people argue that governments should fund the fees for university and college education, while others believe that students should pay for it. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of public financed education. While I acknowledge the drawbacks of public financed education, like high investments that could be also spent in other areas, I believe that the benefit of having a well-educated workforce outweigh the drawbacks.

Since jobs are demanding more and more specific knowledge today, countries that invest in the education of students help to meet that demand. As fees for college and university education can be really high nowadays, not all the students can afford to study. By financing study programs, students can receive education in specific areas and are later on able to work in the countries’ economy. For instance, the German government offers a scholarship program for engineering students who cannot afford to pay the fees of their study program. By financing the study program, the students are able to study and later on they can work in the German industry sector of engineering.

On the other hand, countries that decide to pay for educational fees, have to spent a lot of money. The money that is spent for education, cannot be spent for other important areas like healthcare or development support. This could be potentially immoral, as governments would prioritize health over education. For example, as innovation in healthcare is advancing more and more and new treatments can be quite cost-intensive, governments may not be able to reimburse certain treatments for the public because of a lack in budget.

In conclusion, some people think governments should spent money on financing college and university education, while others believe that students should afford the money. I believe that countries which finance the fees for study invest in the future wealth of their country and gain a competitive advantage. However, I do understand the drawbacks of public financing and the potential moral decisions that have to be taken.