In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many young people choose to be in practical training rather than pursue academic education, As it can prepare them for a professional career and land a job with ease, While others argue that academic education is a must and teaches them to think logically, In this essay I will discuss whether advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages or not.

Firstly, One of the key advantages of work-based training is that at the end of the training, The students will be ready for work life as they have been learning real work experience, Another advantage is they are preferable to the companies since they have the skills needed, For instance, Tech Companies prefer to hire experienced people even if they do not hold a university degree because they are ready to start working.

On the other hand, Young people choose to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university will lead to a decline in academic research, Also, some topics are only taught at the university like medicine, nursing and engineering, For example, people who want to become doctors they need to attend university and involves in academic training likewise for nursing and engineering since these majors require abstract and logical thinking which can only be taught at the universities.

In summary, both views have advantages and disadvantages, Young people who want to enter work life at a younger age can choose to enrol in work-based training but they are limited by what they can learn, While academic education has far more choices but after graduation they need to be trained to be able to enter the work life and land a job.