In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Across the world, many students are preferring to enroll in vocational training rather than attending formal university. Overall, while work-based training helps students secure jobs easily, it also has many drawbacks.

One key advantage of enrolling in practice-based training is the ease with which it helps one secure a job. Unlike most university schooling, which predominantly focuses on theoretical knowledge, vocational training programs equip students with real-world skill sets suited to common job types such as culinary arts, plumbing, and electrical work. Vocational training also pushes individuals to pursue entrepreneurship. It is also less expensive and takes a shorter training period as compared to a full university course.

Despite the listed benefits of work-based training, it also has drawbacks. It comes short in training students with basic theoretical aspects of a given course, hence hindering long-term career progression. For instance, a plumber who found success building and renovating homes in their vicinity typically would find it hard to compete globally with a civil engineer of similar humble beginnings due to a lack of credibility in the eyes of those outside of his area. It also limits students’ choice of fields to pursue, as trades such as medicine, engineering, astronomy, and management are off the table.

In summary, despite the ease of finding a job, its cost, and possible entrepreneurship routes, vocational training limits a student’s potential by depriving them of the formal education required in today’s globalized world. I believe reforming university curricula to include hands-on training and vocational activities is the way forward, instead of streamlining all students to work-based training.