In some countries, there is not enough recycling of waste materials (e.g. paper, glass, and cans). What are the reasons and solutions?

In our rapidly changing world, some countries are suffering from poor recycling system of waste materials like paper, glass and cans. As I am being asked about the reasons of that situation, I will brainstorm causes and try to give solutions to tackle the problems.

Garbage like paper, glass and plastic are thrown to oceans, forests and other places, causing several environmental issues like air pollution and global warming. People are facing these problems because some countries do not recycle all waste materials. One of the main reason for this situation is that most countries which do not recycle enough wasted materials suffer from poverty. They cannot afford the cost of recycling. As an example we can look at India, country is huge and overpopulated. Although the rate of wastage in India is very high, they recycle approximately 20%-30% of its total waste generated. It is clear that country cannot afford cost of the recycling due to its poor economical condition. Tackling this problem will be challenging. Firstly, government should renew the old economical structure to new one, then encourage local businesses which are specialized for waste recycling.

Another obvious reason why some countries could not recycle enough rubbishes is their residents. People do not categorize garbage they throw and It makes recycling process more challenging. As a result most rubbishes cannot be recycled and burnt. The carbon dioxide which is separated by fire will damage the environment and cause air pollution. To tackle this issue, government should give the penalties for individuals who do not divide their trash according to their types. Moreover, authorities should establish more trash cans on shared areas like parks.

In conclusion, recycling waste materials is very essential to reduce the harm for environment which people cause. I think, If authorities immediately take actions, countries can recycle enough waste materials. As a result, we can save our environment from pollution.