In some countries today, children are taught from a young age that competition is important and that winning is everything. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Many countries often prioritize competition among children and emphasize victory. This attitude can undoubtedly make them excel but will also make their focus to shift from learning moral values. This essay will criticize this notion with relevant arguments in upcoming paragraphs.

Young adults are like blank slate, thus, whatever taught in this age can make decide their future as adult. If kids are to be only made to focus on winning, it will make them selfish and mean. The wining spree however is so addicted that it usually tampers with learning values in life. For an example, one who is addicted to win, will never be empathetic and will often pass on learning from new experiences.

As the spirit of competing from tender age with rewarding system can help the cognitive growth and will aid them in their professional life. Nevertheless, the moral values like patience, empathy, kindness are will laid a foundation in their personal life. For an instance, people working overtime to get promotions or hike in pay often neglect their loved ones without any remorse at that time, as quoted by a study done by a Psychologist.

To conclude, the countries focusing the children to only fight for victory can be a negative development for the overall growth and will affect them in longer run. The taste of victory is important but if should not be the sole focus for the young generation but there should be blend of making them competitive by making them learn core qualities should be the goal.