In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

When pursuing further education in university, students have to choose between studying in their hometown and in another city away from their family. Although the latter option seem disadvantageous at first glance, I believe there may be larger benefits to be gained.

The disadvantages still cannot be ignored though, as arguably the biggest one is the expenses. Moving to another city can come with very high cost, especially if the student studies in a top university, it can be incredibly difficult to cover the cost. Some may also become homesick while in a different city and because of this, they may not be able to focus on their studies leading to poor performance.

However, by being in another city, students are faced with unfamiliarity which forces them out of their comfort zone, making them more open to new experiences. For example, I used to be very picky with what I ate but when I moved to Vietnam for university, the food I usually ate wasn’t available there so it meant that I had to eat their traditional food everyday which overtime I started to enjoy. The professors in other cities may also be able to provide knowledge and information that are not accessible in their hometown which could improve their educational performance. Since they are also away from their families and living by themselves, the students may also learn to be more responsible with how they use their money which can help them in the future.

In conclusion, despite the disadvantages, I believe attending university in another city is more beneficial as it can bring students new experiences, knowledge and skills that may be useful for their future