In some countries worldwide, men and women have children at a later age than in the past. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

In some countries, men and women postpone having children until a later age than in past. Equal career opportunities for male and female play a crucial role in this regard. However, it can lead to a reduction in population growth. In this essay will discuss these in details.

Equal occupation opportunities for men and women is a pivotal reason for making decision to have children at a later age. In this era, women have significant contributions in society and hold academic degree in various majors which help them to be more engaged in social activities. Therefore, this development in women’s literacy and social roles provided more career positions for them, causing financial independency in female. As a result, their priorities have changed toward reaching to financial stability before having a child. Furthermore, when women spend most amount of their time in the workplace and community and, decreasing their spare time and energy for playing maternal role. Consequently, some of them born limited number of baby compared to the past.

Having children in the older age may lead to a decline in population growth and cause generation gap among families. Whereas the pregnancy is not safe for women after 35 years old physiologically, their ability to have several children is limited, leading to a decrease in the population growth rate in the countries. For example, several countries worldwide, such as Iran have faced a negative population growth rate over past decades. This situation threats countries with young human resources and huge investment in healthcare services and facilities for the elder population.

In conclusion, equal career opportunities is one of important causes that have led to men and women have children at a later age in comparison to the past. This situation can lead to a fall in the rate of population growth, affecting communities negatively.