In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's own family. Why might people want to do this? It is positive or negative development?

It is certainly true that nowadays investigating one’s family tree is gaining an enormous popularity all over the world. This is probably because people want to know more about their ancestors and where their roots come from. I personally believe that it is a positive development.

Firstly, some individuals discover their family history in order to find out common trends with the family members. In other words, people wish to identify particular skills that they probably inherited from their ancestors. Moreover, it gives them an opportunity to identify some hidden talents and predisposition. Another driving force is a desire to discover geographical origins, that is to say, where their ancestors were originated. This is because some families could migrate to other countries long time ago, thus, losing the connection with their original culture. To exemplify, it has been widely noted that many people pursue to move back to their historical homeland, especially distant descendants of some refugees who have been forced to leave treir country in order to escape war, persecution, or natural disaster. Thus, it is quite self-explanatory why more and more people are getting interested in reserching their background.

The trend of researching family history is certainly beneficial for those, who are intrinsically motivated in becoming aware of their roots. This is obviously because a lack of this knowledge leads to losing one’s family legacy and a cultural heritage as a whole. As a result, preserving a cultural identity by saving traditions and customs cannot be considered negative.

So, in conclusion, there are many reasons why the trend of researching family origins is getting widespread nowadays, and there is no doubt that it is an advantageous trend.