In some places old age is valued, while in other cultures youth is considered more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In contemporary society, the issue of the value of aging has prompted a passionate discussion among citizens in many parts of the world. While many believe that the old ones are valued, it is more beneficial for youth to be considered more important. Consequently, this essay argues that the benefits for young people outweigh the possible drawbacks.

On the one hand, the opponents of the elderly value point out an argument that it offers substantial economic growth, notably in the modern era. In the past, when there was war in many places in the world and living conditions were not good, society was mainly based on hard manual labor, so those things were too much for the elderly, who had poor health and became too dependent on relatives and society. From there, everyone thought that the elderly were a big burden to them. As a result, there was a tendency to put the elderly in nursing homes and not take care of them. With the explosion of technology, current life has been able to meet all the needs of the elderly, such as providing health care and private services, making it easier for the elderly to contribute to the country’s economy.

On the other hand, the advocates of the younger values contend that they form a country’s economic base. There is no denying that the majority of all workforces globally are comprised of young adults and middle-aged citizens. Young people have the energy, passion, and motivation to work hard and achieve not only for the good of society but also to establish a higher standard of living for themselves and their families. Besides, younger generations have ample access to education and the resources needed to become contributing members of society. They will contribute the most in all abilities. Thus, the young generation should be provided with favorable conditions to widen their horizons and be contributing members of society. Take Mark Zuckerberg, the 37-year-old CEO of Facebook, as a prime example. – this creative young man has successfully created a global social network – a multi-billion dollar business model—that can facilitate communication worldwide.

In conclusion, though there are utilitarian reasons to support youth movements, it is more important and principled to be balanced. This is already done in some cultures but should be more widespread.