In some societies, to reduce crime rate, adult punishments are imposed on teenagers who commit major crimes, regardless of their age. What are the advantages and disadvantages of applying adult punishment to teenager criminals

In some parts of the world, teenagers of any age are heavily punished if they commit serious crimes. In this essay, both are benefits and drawbacks of implementing adult punishment on young criminals are discussed.

One major advantage of this development is that heavy punishment implemented can bring the peaceful nations. To explain, when young people committed serious convictions such as manslaughter or property crimes would be kept behind bars, social safety can be ensured. Besides, the rate of juvenile crimes will certainly be reduced if would-be criminals are aware of the adverse consequences of breaking the law. For instance, school plays a crucial role on preventing the increase in juvenile crime rates by organizing school propaganda activities about stringent penalties when students committed criminals.

However, this developments also has several drawbacks. Prisons might be overload because of the increasing figure for criminals. Therefore, can be happened prison fight as uncontrolled the process of inmate supervision. In addition, it can be impossible for young criminals to rehabilitate if being imprisoned at a young age. This is because they can be exposed to negative influences from experienced criminals and gradually develop more aggressive or anti-social behaviour. As a result, instead of becoming law-abiding citizens after release, many young prisoners may reoffend and struggle to reintegrate into society.

In conclusion, while punishing young convictions as heavily as adult ones appear to be beneficial in terms of maintaining social order, this approach may also jeopardize the future of many teenagers. It is recommended that punishments for criminals of young age should not only be punitive but also be educational.