The media limit how much bad news they report because it discourages people from doing activities which usually involve very little risk. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the media should limit the amount of news they report, because it gives a negative effect on people. Others don’t think they have to be restricted from what is happening around them. Personally, I fully agree with the second opinion, and think that it’s the media’s job to aware us about everything.

Nowadays, people think that the world have become more dangerous, and in the past, there were less criminals. Although, in the past it was the same, but people had no tools for spreading the information. They knew something from foreigners who visited the countries frequently and sometimes through letters. But now we have internet, mass media and the news immediately cover whole the world. That’s why adults have become more anxious. Now, parents don’t allow their children to do the activities they perceived as acceptable and normal. As a result, people are too scared to try something new and lose a lot of opportunities appearing on their way.

However, we have the right to know about our surrounding. If mass media stop spreading unpleasant news, this can lead to huge problems. For instance, during pandemic (Covid-19) as the virous started spreading, through mass media people quickly awarded others about the danger. Consequently, many lives were saved, but it could have been worse. Moreover, listening to such news we can review many things, and try to be more careful about something particular. This also can reduce the risks of injuries and deaths.

In conclusion, this is the media’s responsibility to report both good and bad news, even though it has a strong impact on society. We cannot escape the real world, and these reports gives us the freedom to choose the way which is the best for us.