in spite of many advances women have made in education and employment, they continue to be at a disadvantage when it comes to pay and promotion. In your view, what should be done to promote equality of opportunity for men and women in the workplace ?

Despite the many positives which women have brought to the field of education and employment, they are still taken advantage of regarding pay and promotion. I certainly believe women can be treated with increased respect and should attain opportunities like men in workplaces. This can be achieved by lifting any restrictions on the wages or salaries of female employees in a workplace, in addition, women should be in consideration when it comes to a list of candidates fit for elevation in ranks.

Firstly, the majority of complains when it comes to the matter of equality among females and males are rooted from the difference in payment received by women compared to men. Therefore, this can be solved by having no restrictions on how much each gender can earn and should only depend on the responsibility and work done by an individual excluding the factor of what sex they are. Hence, there can be no discrimination and each person will be paid what they’re due depending on the weight of their tasks and their performance. For instance, a female footballer should be paid the around the same wages per week as a male footballer with no significant difference between as they should be judged evenly. A better example would be how a new male cashier and a new female cashier end up receiving different sums of wages while they both do the same exact task with the man earning more, however, this should not be the case and both should be treated equally.

Another aspect to note out is how females face unfair decisions when it comes to getting a chance to be working at a higher rank, some companies don’t even consider women for promotion that which is related to superior roles in a business as this has been the norm for long periods of time. Despite it being a norm, A person should be judged on their performance when it comes to gaining promotion in a business not on the gender, subsequently, this has become an uphill battle for women to gain positions higher up the business. Solving this issue can definitely reduce the inequality and instead encourage a balanced judgement when it comes to giving a higher position to a certain individual.

Given all the points, I strongly believe the removal of restrictions on the income that can be earnt by women, in addition, the judgement and candidates to be shortlisted for upgrading a personnel in a business should include females and must be based on their productivity.