in spite of many advances women have made in education and employment, they continue to be at a disadvantage when it comes to pay and promotion. In your view, what should be done to promote equality of opportunity for men and women in the workplace ?

Nowadays, it could be more complicated for women to move up the career ladder than for men. Female employees are likewise used to earning less compared with male ones. From my point of view, there are plenty of actions that governments and businesses can take to address the issue.

Firstly, responsible public authorities could introduce tax incentives for companies hiring enough women that would undoubtedly encourage executives to observe gender equality. When it comes to saving money, solutions actually start to work. For instance, in Russia, the government established a halved income tax rate for IT-organizations at least twenty percent of which are females. It led to a rapid increase in the number of women engaged in this field.

Another feasible measure would be for corporations themselves to ensure that their male and female staff members receive approximately the same salary for equivalent work and that women are promoted in the same way as men. This would make women feel that their labour is paid rightfully and not underappreciated. Not only will this approach remarkably reduce the gender gap, but also improve the company’s reputation.

Finally, the government could require employers to publish figures on how many women they have hired out of the total number of workers and how much they earn in comparison with men. Evidence of large inequalities would create a poor impression. In order to avoid bad publicity, companies might consider it worthwhile to pay fairer wages and promote more females to management positions.

In conclusion, the problem of gender inequality will probably not be solved quickly. However, as long as we are mindful of the matter and put effort into coping with it, we are certainly able to attain excellent results in the near term.