in spite of many advances women have made in education and employment, they continue to be at a disadvantage when it comes to pay and promotion. In your view, what should be done to promote equality of opportunity for men and women in the workplace ?

In the modern world, achieving gender-fair environment is a topical issue, especially in the job market. Despite of women’s talents and effort, they tend to receive less remuneration compared to their male counterparts. In my opinion, there are numerous measures that can be taken to tackle this problem.

The joint effort between the government and the companies is prioritized. First and foremost, the government plays a pivotal role in mitigating biases. They can establish policies and laws associated with gender inequality. Government can mandate organizations to report on personnels’ salaries and publish it annually. This pressures the companies and managers to close the gap between men and women, which alleviate discrepancies in the workplace. Moreover, the government is responsible for raising people’s awareness. As the women are at a disadvantage due to several hurdles, such as ailments after pregnancy or bearing the brunt for childcare responsibilities, the need to generate an equal environment to facilitate them having fulfill careers or attaining financial stability.

Furthermore, it is undeniable that the companies also contribute positively to address gender discrimination. They should allocate more resources to foster courses for managers to differientiate and spot the stuble discrimination, such as sexual harassment or refusing to promote women. For example, Google has implemented unconscious biases training, which provides the leaders with potential solutions. In addition, business should showcase successful women, whether they hold manangement positions or rank-and-file employees, as an effective strategy to bolster their confidence and self-esteem. This will also raise their profiles and eliminate the stereotypes or misconceptions of the reputation between “man’s work” and “woman’s work”. Last but not least, it is urgent for females to be well-prepared about their own rights. They can raise their voice and make legal complain about the inequality that they have faced. As women are imperative to the bottom line of the companies and maintaining the balance in the workplace, the companies should incentivize them to advance their career besides menial tasks.

In conclusion, I believe that gender discrimination is a contemporary problems and requires a concerted effort between the government and the companies in the long term to successfully minimize this issue.