In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, many vehicles such as buses, cars, and trucks, are steered by human drivers. However, it would change with the concept and technology of driverless vehicles. This will have both merits and drawbacks. In this essay, I will argue that the advantages of this would outweigh the disadvantages.

Technological advancement and the concept of driverless automatic cars can avoid many human errors. Sometimes, human is affected by their mood and conditions surrounding them that cause unexpected tragedies. For example, in Indonesia, almost every day there are accidents caused by sleepy people, and people who do not focus. Driverless automobiles can be more efficient to save lives by preventing accidents. Each vehicle would have Artificial Intelligence as the main system consists of several parts such as safety, control, sensor, and others. An example is Tesla company which produces driverless cars with really advanced technology. These cars would consider hundreds of parameters while driving and take decisions precisely without making mistakes.

However, people still think that vehicles without drivers are dangerous. They still want to rely on human judgement rather than relying on computer systems that can not feel or have empathy. Machine errors can suddenly happen and they could produce unexpected and catastrophic results like bigger and more dangerous accidents involving many vehicles.

However, the disadvantages of driverless vehicles can be solved if the company produce cars that are well-equipped with safety measures and tools. Those cars should be tested rigorously before they run on the roads. Moreover, the government should improve the infrastructures and roads so that they are made friendly for driverless cars.

In conclusion, driverless cars will dominate our roads in the future. And if we make plans to improve and embrace them, we will have a safer and more efficient way of travelling while also avoiding road accidents.