In the future, all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles would be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, the advent of self-driving cars has sparked intense discussion all over the world. Some proponents believe that driverless vehicles bring numerous advantages to society, while opponents argue that those vehicles will put passengers at risk. In my opinion, I think the advantages of promoting autonomous cars outweigh the disadvantages. In the following paragraphs, I will give some reasons to support my opinion.

It is undeniable that self-driving vehicles still have some limitations that are difficult to overcome. For example, the operation of autonomous cars heavily relies on the programs that are originally set into their computers. A car may fail to stop when the signal turns red, for example, if its installed program goes wrong. This failure causes trouble to both the passengers inside it and other vehicles on the road. However, the problem can be solved by taking over the control of the car remotely by a human being.

Compared to the limitations, self-driving vehicles can be advantageous in various aspects. For example, designers of those driverless automobiles input traffic rules into their algorithms, making them reliable enforcers of traffic rules. This can, to some extent, contribute to the reduction of traffic accidents and the alleviation of traffic congestion. Moreover, some customers, especially new arrivals with large baggage, may complain that some taxi drivers take unnecessary detours to earn extra money. But the application of driverless vehicles helps address the problem as they automatically design a relatively faster and more economical route. Therefore, self-driving cars bring more benefits.

In conclusion, driverless vehicles may possess some limitations, but our current technology can already address these problems. Residents can take many more advantages of those vehicles in terms of safety, speed and expenses.