In the future, artificial intelligence will replace most human jobs. This will lead to a better society for everyone." To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the context of the recent overwhelming wave of automation across all industries, many gloomily predict that robots will outcompete and render workers obsolete. Although this might be the case for routine lines of work namely white-collar office jobs, I strongly argue against this stance as the core competencies of humanity namely emotional processing and creativity are ones that could never be truly replicated by artificial intelligence. Hence, robots will only enhance productivity, not substituting human workers.

To begin with, it is true that certain tasks of repetitive nature and entry level may be automated. Given the rapid rate at which artificial agencies are able to collate and analyse enormous amounts of data, they can outperform some ordinary white collar workers, especially those who have just entered the workforce. For instance, a basic task such as calculating a company’s monthly expenditure and profit can be accurately tabulated by large language models such as ChatGPT within a matter of minutes. In comparison, a junior accountant may require days worth of work to perform the same task, at the discretion of possible human errors. Additionally, robots are capable of carrying out highly physical work, such as mining, or work long hours without the need for rest or food, where conditions are unfavourable for human workers. As a result, deploying automated entities provides businesses with more economic leeway as compared to hiring an ordinary employee.

However, artificial intelligence would never possess the ability to think in a humane manner or innovate from scratch. Since they can only synthesise algorithmically based on materials made by men that are already existent, one can substantiate that robots can never truly create something of their own, hence human inputs would always be required. Even in scientific and data analytical fields, which are often regarded as prone to being replaced by robots, creativity is of utmost importance as researchers need to come up with novel approaches to solve such challenging questions. This extends further for creative professionals, the arts and humanities are deeply human since only men can feel emotions and experience the very aspect of being alive, crystallising them into artworks worth pondering upon. To illustrate, there have been great aversion and criticism regarding the infestation of low quality artificial intelligence produced videos where toxic ideologies like misogyny are echoed. Indeed, the public calls for boycotting of such content and demands for preservation of authentic films with moral storylines. On that basis, it can be said that no amount of computation shall enable a bot to embody such essence.

Henceforth, a more compelling ground would be to argue that artificial intelligence would be an aid to enhance human workers’ productivity rather than replacing them.Similarly to how the invention of calculators were thought to make mathematicians redundant, the opposite proved to be true as they merely assisted in terms of calculations, while mathematicians remain the main creditors for breakthroughs. This is evident in the adoption of artificial intelligence in Singapore. Known as one of the world’s foremost financial hubs, the nation has embraced automation, having integrated usage of these tools in national policy frameworks and continuously advocates for familiarisation with them in public and private firms. Their workers, well trained in utilising edge-cutting technology, enjoy tremendous value-add in their work, in turn positioning themselves favourably in the job market and establishing Singapore as a steadfast economy.