In the future, it seems more difficult to live on Earth. Some people think more money should spent on researching another planet to live, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

It is expected that living on Earth may become impossible in the future, so some argue that more money should be spent on exploring other planets, including Mars, to explore for potential habitation. This essay will partly agree with this opinion and provide examples.

Proponents of the idea of moving to other planets where humans can survive assert that it is important to invest more of the national budget in high technology and rocket science to prevent the potential threat of human extinction caused by shortages of limited resources, such as fossil fuels and vegetation on Earth. For instance, SpaceX, the private company, and NASA have been making efforts to discover other planets in space that have a similar atmosphere—containing water and plants—on which people can live. This indicates that by developing such long-term innovative human migration plans, it could contribute to humans’ survival for longer periods.

However, opponents contend that this future preparation is too far off to lead to feasible actions due to underdeveloped technology and scientific knowledge; instead, it is more important to protect and be concerned with the environment, which leads to increasing global warming and causes severe natural disasters, including droughts and flooding across the world. For instance, many European countries have recently suffered from extreme weather patterns, which has led to the loss of individuals’ property and agricultural products. Consequently, such environmental degradation that humans face has adversely affected poor economic growth locally as well as an increase in individuals’ mental health issues.

In conclusion, while it is reasonable that both governments and private businesses spend astronomical amounts of money on state-of-the-art technology for the exploration of Earth-like planets to prepare for a long-term goal that allows humans to survive without concerns about resource depletion, it is significantly crucial that pressing environmental issues, such as climate change, should be tackled to diminish the risks that harm individuals and society.