In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Living in a big cities now, it’s not the same experience as it was in the past. In the past, there were advantages and disadvantages to live in small community.

On one hand, there were 2 advantages to live in a neighborhood where everybody was an acquaintance. Firstly, children interacted with each other, so they learned social skills and was more confident. Unfortunately majority of people are not sociable at all now because they spend more and more time sitting at home and don’t know anyone in their district. Secondly, people who live in a small society felt closer and took a part in some events or just discuss anything. Subsequently, people do not fell lonely at all, they know somebody would help them.

On the other hand, this type of society of course have some drawbacks. The main one is the lack of communication. In the past, people had serious problems to find new friends or partners, because they had already know everyone. In modern society, it’s easily to find new acquaintance , even in your area, because frequently in large cities, people only know a couple of neighbors , who live in their area. Second one is pressure. Small communities can have strong social expectations and pressures, as everyone knows each other. It may cause to the lack of people’s space and privacy. In this aspect , modern type of communication more suitable for introverts and this one who prefer staying alone.

In conclusion, I believe that generally in the past , it was more comfortable to live and have some support and help. However, in my view, its difficult to argue that modern type of communication have had only bad influence on your life. Also, we need to make sure that we still communicate , at least with our close one