In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in large cities where they only know a few people in their area. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays cities reign supreme as the area of residence of most, thus the social circle of people who know each other has decreased, only a few within their block. Gone are the days when most people lived in small villages where everyone knew one another. This essay will discuss the various merits and demerits of living in a small community.

On one hand, residing in a small community can bring numerous advantages to the table. One major appeal is the sense of community and togetherness, this means a lot when your in a sticky situation, not only will you not feel embarrassed of asking for assistance, most if not all within that community will sympathize with your plight and offer a helping hand. For example, children who grow up will be naturally very disoriented and confused as to how to live like adult, with living in a small community, surrounding adults who very much likely accompanied and witness this child grow into adulthood, will be very much obliged to teach them the ropes in all aspect of adult life.

On the other hand, it could also bring plenty of demerits, most notable is the lack of privacy, or the lack of control of one’s privacy. Within a small gated community, rumors and gossip can easily spread, not only that sensitive information can be leaked after the slightest error. This can lead to a intense of paranoia, living in constant fear that even a minor misstep can result in the loss of very personal and private information. For instance, if by some reason you tell someone with the community about a little kept secret, most likely it will be known by every other member, even if you specifically requested them to keep silence, this can be traced back to the sense of comfort with each other member, keeping a secret isn’t always on their mind, thus it is likely that they will slip it out in one shape or form.

In conclusion, living in a small community has their upsides and downsides, for advantages it’s a sense of comfort, whereas, privacy can be easily intruded.