In the past, people used to travel abroad to look for many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons?Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is indeed becoming increasingly common for countries to be similar to each other. While there could be a variety of reasons why this is the case, in my view, this new development is detrimental overall.

There are several reasons why countries are becoming the same. One of them would be ease of travel. The reason is that the number of countries with advanced tourism systems has increased dramatically in recent years, and everyone can go to foreign countries without spending too much money and time. Hence, most people’s minds are indeed becoming similar, and they are implementing almost the same solutions to solve the problems of their countries. Another reason is urbanization. This means that nowadays, there are so many skyscrapers and modern buildings in developed countries, and the number of historical and ancient buildings has witnessed a huge decline, so most travelers are not able to see several differences between countries.

Despite these reasons, there are some adverse effects of this trend. Firstly, countries that rely on their tourism system as a key driver of their economies can face some huge problems because these types of countries may not be able to provide their citizens with money and make some improvements in their countries. As a result, residents of these countries could suffer from shortages of food and money, which can then lead to disagreements with their governments. Secondly, the above-mentioned similarities can cause cultural clashes. This is because people around the world have some special traditions and special events, and if travelers cannot go to historical places to explore other cultures, these travelers may unexpectedly disrespect other traditions.

In conclusion, even though there might be some causes of similarities between most countries, in my opinion, governments should take some measures to solve it before causing some of the problems that I mentioned above.