In the past, people used to travel abroad to look for many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons?Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that in the past, people used to compare the differences between cities of foreign countries and their home countries when they traveled abroad. However, cities are becoming increasingly similar throughout the world these days. In my opinion, this view has its drawbacks than benefits.

On the one hand, cultural exchanges offer numerous benefits on both a personal level and on a broader scale. It provides an opportunity to learn about different ways of life directly from those who live them – no travel agencies required. They can involve the sharing of ideas, values, traditions and other aspects of culture among individuals from different backgrounds. When we understand each other better, we are more empathetic and even conflicts may be more easily resolved.

On the other hand, although being similar has many merits, I believe that these can bring some drawbacks. When happening cultural homogenization, it can lead to loss of cultural diversity and cultural indentity. To begin with, when cultures adopt the same types music, clothing, food and other cultural practices and values, resulting in a less varied and less interesting global cultural landscape. In addition, numerous global chains appear which make people can get motonous because they lack options and have limited experience.

In conclusion, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more simlar these days, in my view, this development is more neagtive than positive.