In the past, people used to travel to see the differences from their home country. However, the sceneries in places around the world seem similar nowadays. What are the causes of these similarities? Do you think that the advantages of these similarities outweigh the disadvantages?

Compared to the past, destinations around the world are becoming more and more similar to each other. This trend is caused by several factors, and I am convinced that the benefits of this trend are greater than its drawbacks.

First and foremost, the growth in similarity among places is due to some reasons. Obviously, the trend of immigration, as well as the exchange of cultures, is one of the main reasons that contribute to this situation. Indeed, in the modern era, more and more individuals decide to work and live in another country to find better occupations and life quality. In addition, another factor is the development of social media, which leads to the importation of culture and customs among the youth. For example, the street style from the US, which is recently very popular on the internet, has been imitated by young people from other nations.

However, I argue that the disadvantages are more significant than the advantages. One of the benefits is that children may learn the positive side of other cultures. To illustrate, in Japan, there is a samurai spirit, which motivates people to become persistent. In contrast, some cultures may promote negative behaviour, which leads to conflicts and inequality in society. For instance, gender discrimination, which is very common in some Asian countries such as China or Korea, as well as prevent female getting educational or career opportunities equal to males. Moreover, this trend also leads to the decrease of the tourism industry as visitors feel bored when every destination is similar and no difference.

In conclusion, I believe that there are some factors leading to the similarity of places around the world, and their negative impacts are more considerable.