In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Nowadays, the number of university students who immigrate overseas countries as a part of their academic journey has increased. While this incidence has its pros and cons, in my opinion the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

There are two main reasons why studying aboroad can be beneficial. Firstly, what makes this experience valuable is the improvement in sense of self-esteem and independence among students. Since, these pupils are far from their home and they have lost the direct support of their families, they have to do different tasks that they might never have done them before. For example, paying bills, opening bank account, and making food for themselves. Accepting these challenges, makes them more responsible and leads to their personal growth. Secondly, they become familiar with various cultures and thanks to this exposure, they can broaden their horizons about different topics. Since students from different cultures and background have been accepted in international universities, this experience provides them an opportunity to interact with different classmates and learn about their morale values.

However, despite the above arguments, this journey might have some drawbacks. The primary negative effect is the sense of homesickness. This feeling is inevitable and it is totally normal among those who recently have traveled to new destinations. They might feel depression, and fail to socialize and make friends particularly with those who have different mother tongues. Whilst these feelings can harm students’ mental health, I firmly believe that passing time can address these issues and individuals get used to new circumstances. Moreover, universities can offer phsycology consultation for new students in order to help them spend this though period earlier.

In conclusion, these days, the growing numbers of individuals are choosing to continue their academic journey abroad. Although this decision could have some setbacks, I think possitive effects of it outweigh the negative consequences.