In the recent years, remote work has become very common. Consequently, views vary about whether the benefits of working from home surpasses that of on-site employment. In this essay I will discuss both views and share mine on this topic.

First, Remote work has proven many benefits, especially throughout the COVID-19 pandemic. For instance, it ensures a greater work-life balance and autonomy, as workers have greater control over their schedules. This benefits both the employee and the employer equally, because workers are more likely to produce higher quality results. furthermore, another positive point is that employees no longer need to spend extra on the daily commute. However working form home has its negatives. For example, social isolation, especially for the less socially active or introverted individuals which in time can lead to a decline in mental health.

On the other hand, working on-site brings along many benefits, such as better communication. Unlike remote work where communication happens through video conferencing where there’s a big room for errors. In-person communication is much clearer. Additionally, working in an office gives employers more control which helps them better organize and oversee their business. Nonetheless, traveling to work is time-consuming in addition to being costly on the long run.

Finally, in my opinion, companies should consider a hybrid approach which implements a set amount of mandatory on-site time in addition to allowing employees to work from home. This approach will ensure the workers get the best of both worlds. A work-life balance, better communication, and better mental health.