In this day and age, many older individuals tend to live alone. Why? What is the impacts?

In this contemporary era, there is a prevailing tendency that individuals are more likely to live alone than in the past. In this essay, I would explain the reasons leading to this trend before proposing some possible effects.

In the past, the traditional society highly emphasized the role of being communal and sticking up together. From a survival perspective, this idea makes a lot of sense as being together could reduce the cost of living and improve communal support. Nevertheless, the modern world has highlighted the role of individualism, elevating the ability to be independent. This is why many senior people choose to reside alone without any support as they believe that would reduce distractions and enhance their ability to be socially aligned.

While the increase in the loneliness lifestyle offers numerous benefits, it also presents several challenges for society. Firstly, freedom and private space provided from this trend can be a opportunity for individuals to feel free in doing their preferable aspects, fostering the capacity for independent lifestyle, and actively coming up with their own opinions. This, in turn, leads to more innovative creation and foster the chance of following their passion. However, those people who live lonely could have some potential troubles when they grow elderly, as older citizens often have difficulty in taking care of themselves, and mostly relying on medical attention and long-term care. Such limitations can strain both public resources and heallthcare systems, potentially leading to inadequate support for the aging demographic.

In conclusion, the modern society and individualism are key factors contributing to the increasing in loneliness way of life. However, it is imperative for individuals to maintain a delicate balance between capitalizing the benefits of private lifestyle and the potential pressures they may encounter when they get older.