In this technological era, personal information is held on computers by many companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to the development of technology in recent years, storing customers personal’ data on computers has been done prevalent by many companies and establishments. Personally, I think that the benefits associated with this development overperform some minor drawbacks.

There are some benefits associated with the trend of storing customers’ data on computers by companies and organizations. When companies save the customers personal’ information on their computers, the accessibility of this data could be improved. In the past, if a clinic chain had multiple locations, they would have to go through many medical documents before clearly understanding their client’s current conditions. However, thanks to the new ability to store data on computers nowadays, all medical history can be displayed instantly, helping companies to save time and reduce the frequency of errors.

On the other hand, saving sensitive customers personal’ data leads to some perilous drawbacks if the management and security are not implemented optimally. For instance, some people with malicious intentions and a high understanding of computer systems could easily break through virtual protections that prohibit the access to sensitive data. As a result, they can eventually use this data for some financial benefits, maybe selling this information to data brokers or directly extorting customers. Many social media platforms store their customers’ data and have been leaked in the past due to lack of security.

In conclusion, although there are some negative effects of this trend. However, I believe that the benefits overperform the drawbacks. The reason is that while concerned about the criticality of communication in privacy, companies and establishments could improve their management and security in which they have higher data’ protection. Moreover, the benefits of increased understanding of customers’ preference and how they purchase products or services could improve marketing strategies, which enhance profitability.