In today's globalised world, traditional cultures are being replaced by international ones. Why is this happening? Do you think this trend is more positive or negative?

The majority of people are being influenced by globalisation due to the progress of technology which helps to diffuse information fast and almost everywhere in the world. As a result, numerous traditions and cultures are rapidly disappearing. This may be a positive as well as a negative development that affects the society.

From my perspective, globalization has a negative influence on development. Many people, especially young generations, are forgetting the traditions of their own country, which makes their national identity disappear. For example, if an individual in Kyrgyzstan forgets his national language due to the globalization of Russian in this country, Kyrgyz language will most likely disappear, as no one speaks it anymore. As a result, the national identity, which makes a country unique, will not exist anymore.

On the other hand, there is a positive side if traditional cultures disappear due to globalization. Many traditions do not follow the law and human rights, which consequently harms people. For example, in Arab culture, there is a tradition where grown men can marry an underage girl. I believe that it is unacceptable and there should not be such a tradition. So, if these traditions disappear, there will not be any inappropriate rules that citizens must follow. Consequently, people will have a much better quality of life if globalization makes those cultural traditions disappear.

In conclusion, although global trends can have negative consequences on national identity, in my point of view, the disparition of these traditional cultures in cause of globalization has a greater positive effect on people’s quality of life.