In today's society, more and more work is done by machines. Do you think the positive effects of the development outweigh the negative effects on individuals and society?

In contemporary society, there is a trend for machine manufacturing to replace manual production. While some assert that this might have a negative influence on both individuals and society, I believe that the benefits generated by technology outweigh the disadvantages.

Admittedly, the growth usage of machines in various workplaces might aggravate poverty and inflate unemployment rates. More jobs undertaken by machines means that the job market provides fewer job opportunities, leading to more intensive competition for individuals. Hence, people who have been weeded out in market selection are forced to cope with unemployment problems, which will numerously lower their incomes and erode their living standards. In the meantime, as the unemployment rate surges, it exacerbates the fiscal strain on the government, who need to invest more in subsidies for the impoverished populace and create new job opportunities.

However, the issues brought by technology are gradually mitigated while more merits are exhibited. As society grapples with aging populace and rising educational attainment levels, the workforce dedicated to purely manual labor is set to dwindle. Replacing these roles with mechanization offers advantage for society: reducing labor costs and exponentially increasing productivity. For instance, in contemporary food manufacturing plants, automated assembly lines perform numerous tasks, achieving production efficiency over twice that of traditional human labor while significantly improving quality control. These advancements catalyze industrial innovation and transformation, ultimately fostering, rather than hindering, economic progress.

Moreover, alongside the economic growth, individuals could also benefit from this shift. Firstly, mechanization can enhance efficiency and offer convenience for people, as they can implement many simple but time-cost tasks. For example, intelligent programs can help securities employees to supervise the stock markets and analyze the capital movement. Secondly, while replacing some works, technological advancements have the capacity to generate new employment opportunities with potentially higher remuneration. For example, careers in machine operation and maintenance, and the research and development of innovative machinery can emerge as significant areas of employment. Such roles can substantially mitigate the employment challenges faced by younger job seekers and offer viable reemployment prospects for middle-aged and older workers. Furthermore, driven by the broader economic growth facilitated by technological progress, these emerging positions are poised to deliver enhanced economic benefits.

In conclusion, the development of mechanization is a double-edged sword, which can result in serious social problems alongside generate great benefits to individuals and society. Personally, the merits outweigh the disadvantages from a long-term perspective.