In today’s very competitive world, a worker has to possess multiple skills to succeed. Among the skills that a worker should possess, which skill do you think is more important, social skills or good qualification? Explain the reasons and provide specific examples to support your answer.

Getting a job offer has been growing more competitive since the companies are likely to offer their jobs to candidates who stand out in qualifications and social skills. Although both are important, social skills should be a priority because they contribute to a company’s success in many areas.

Out of the two skill sets, qualifications might seem more significant for work efficiency. Workers who have high knowledge and experiences in their respective field will master their tasks faster. As a result, companies can reduce financial resources spent on training their employees. Apart from that, having a good educational background can help reassure the applicant’s productivity, intelligence and trustworthiness. This, however, will not always be the case. Currently, many jobs require knowledge beyond what is taught in university courses and because of this, all employees have to learn about their duties from zero anyway regardless of prior educational degrees.

In contrast to the knowledgeable aspect of possessing high qualifications, social skills complement teamwork, harmony and cooperation’s. Humans are social animals, and so the same applies to working-class men and women. Many duties in the job industry require coordination with colleagues and business partners. However, people with less competence in social skills tend to struggle to get along with other employees which can cause discrimination and team spirits leading to destruction of work environment, company values as well as company goals. If these issues are not properly dealt with, it could ultimately impact the entire working process and worsen the overall work outputs of a company. Moreover, unlike qualifications which can be learned from studying, social skills can only be garnered from real experiences such as school events, volunteer camps or just daily life conversations and interactions. Therefore, it is more optimized to hire workers with good social skills and later train them to qualify for the job.

In conclusion, although both skill sets have their place to shine, social skills should be the one to prioritized. Teamwork in workplaces are very important, and thus social skills should never be overlooked when hiring employees. However, it is best to settle with applicants who possess a credible balance of both good qualifications and amazing social skills.