In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The influence of English language is exponencially rising worldwide. Acheiving a proficiency in English is essential if people intent to pursue careers in certain sectors. This poses a significant risk for the decline of native languages as more individuals are speaking in English .

When we inspect the root cause of widespread emergence of English speaking people in various countries, majority of times there is a professional requirement behind it. For instance, individuals working in various sectors including IT and marketing co-operate and interact with different international companies which necessitate them to use a common language for communication. Learning English also has become crucial for people trying to pursue education or work in English speaking countries such as the USA, Canada, the UK and so on. For this reason parents tend to educate their children in English instead of the local language from a very early age. For example, in South India, it is mandatory that every students must continue their education in English language after 10th grade.

Despite the career opportunities the English language provides, it has a detrimental effect in one’s mothertongue. As more and more people speak in English, the native language will soon be forgotten and forseably extincted. This could result in the disappearance of our cutures and traditions. A prime solution for this problem is the implementation of the local language as a part of school curriculum. This allows students to explore the importance of their own languages and the relevance of preserving it. In addition to this, artistic group projects such as dramas, paintings and musicals can also be included in schools allowing children to have interactions in their respective local languages. For example , many schools in China dedicate a day per month for the students to perform vaious art forms in Chinees.

To conclude, eventhough the importance of learning English language can not be eliminated because of the professional gains, the dangerous impact it has on our native languages have to be prioritized. This can be managed with the re-introduction of local languages back to our schools.