In your opinion, what has been the most significant transportation innovation of the past 200 years?

Nowadays, the sphere of transportation is dramatically developing every year, due to the creation of new kinds of vehicles. In my view, a prior innovation over the past 200 years was obviously the advent of the automobile in the 19th century.

First, when the first model of the automobile was made, mankind was provided with a wide variety of opportunities that could be realized in the time ahead. The general structure and basic devices of the first automobile led to a comprehensive understanding of this transport mode’s features. For example, people in the future have been using an engine and constructions very similar to the first car. Therefore, the automobile became a reference for all proceeding novelties of transportation.

Furthermore, greater preferences for cars grew the moment it started being used among people for traveling around. It was commonly related to the convenience and privacy of this type of transportation. For instance, cars offer places for seating, implied for a small group of people, whereas on the train or in the bus, humans were likely to get stacked in the crowded area and forced to share their personal space with random individuals. Thus, with a car, people became more satisfied with commuting within the city, and the automobile is the most widely applied transport.

In conclusion, there are several investigations that have encouraged a huge progress in realms of the transportation area. However, I believe that the introduction of the automobile was the most essential innovation of the past two centuries.