Increasing university tuition fees and limited graduate job prospects have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts like philosophy and history and only offer practical courses that maximize employment chances. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The escalating costs of tuition fees in universities, and lower job opportunities for graduates lead some people to assume that universities should discontinue courses, such as arts, philosophy, and history, that are not practical in improving chances of being employed. Although the claim seems to be plausible to a certain extent, I strongly disagree with this notion, as I believe that these subjects also play a pivotal role in nurturing an individual’s wisdom.

To begin with, additional courses relating to history and philosophy lectures at the university are offered to enhance one’s intellectual knowledge and fundamental concepts of society. Courses focused on art-related subjects intended to share previous events such as conflicts, agreements, and milestones of civilizations to acknowledge the patterns and mistakes from the past, as well as philosophy,which focused on the thoughts based on the concept of human behaviors. For instance, the founding fathers of educational institutions have agreed upon adding history and philosophy as essential university courses that could enlighten upcoming generations by avoiding flaws that have caused voids previously. Apparently, these subjects are still involved as a choice of majors for their own reasons.

Furthermore, it is undeniable that these subjects cannot guarantee a stable job for one’s career; however, many people opt for subjects according to their will, which should not be neglected due to a lack of job prospects. Even though a minority of individuals call for abolishing history and philosophy majors to cease providing in the institutions, a number of people who are enthusiastic for such subjects should not lose their pursuit for a certain course. For these reasons, fields associated with the arts shall only be diminished if the majority votes for it, according to the voices of citizens settling in a particular country.

In summation, whilst the surge in university tuition fees with the increasingly competitive graduate job market has been a major concern for people, the proposal of removing majors concentrated on history and philosophy does not seem to cope with the problems happening currently. Considering these details, I firmly object to this statement due to the reasons that I have indicated above.